Transformation

Where Is My Cocoon?

Is it just me? Or, do you too stop to take in the change around you? This time of year, in my neck of the woods, the leaves are changing their colors before finally parting way with the trees that gave them life to begin with. It really is the celebration of the life of a well lived leaf.

Is it just me? Or, do you too enjoy watching life grow and evolve? I am talking about the first blooms of the season some of which will give way and turn into fruits or vegetables. I am talking the puppy or the kitten that seem to evolve before our own eyes? I am talking about people from newborn to toddler to teen and before you know it, you are now looking into the eyes of an adult.

We seem to be so fascinated by stories of transformation be it the rags to riches kind or the unhealthy to vitality kind or simply the shy to outspoken kind. Yet, for many of us,my former self as well, we do not find any beauty or inspiration in our own transformation. For whatever reason, we envy the caterpillar’s cocoon wherein that transformation is private and when all is done, there is the big revealing TA-DA.

I lived in that mental trap for a good bit until one day, it simply dawned on me. If the universe really felt we needed a cocoon to support mankind’s various transformations, it would have been part of the design from the get go. Since I did not possess any natural cocoon making materials, then I must accept and embrace that all my superficial transformations will be exactly that – visible to anyone who wanted to gaze at me in that light.

Still, there are a good number of hidden transformations – the lifestyle changing mindset ones. Those are done within the privacy of your consciousness. So then I concluded, right or wrong, that my consciousness is my cocoon to support the needed shifts, subtle or otherwise, in my continued evolution. Yes, I still get squeamish when I try to observe myself in the process of these shifts. So I gave up the need to know it was happening and instead to trust the process. Now, I am good at noticing my major shifts. My subtler shifts are reflected back to me by friends and strangers alike.

Embrace the shifts. Accept the process.

 

Leave a Reply

